top of page
  • Writer's pictureJackie

DIY Real Corn Husk Harvest Wreath

I'm so proud of this harvest. It's been a bit of a tough year for basically all farmers in the US. We have it lucky compared to most, but there were definitely some cry out prayers coming after we planted super late due to rain just never leaving in May. And while we thought we'd be done with harvest by now (Oct 18) and planing a cover crop, our corn's moisture is still too high so we've not even started. Soooooo, we have had time on our hands in the waiting. So I got to decorate for once!

All you see was free except the pumpkins we got for a few bucks from a farmer down the road and I had some twine in my craft closet.

So what you need to make this fun, festive, crazy corn stock wreath is:

  • 1 coat hanger (and eventually a wreath door hanger)

  • Twine or string of some sort

  • Scissors

  • Corn stock leftovers after the start of harvest

John and I had fun trying to find some straight-ish ones but also some that had some crazy flair!

While Pinteresting myself, I saw a few different ways of doing this but this was the way I found to be the easiest.

First, bunch up some for the corn husks together to where they are all fairly evenly sized and sort of plan out where they all will go in order.

So once you somewhat have a plan, start tying the husk bunches to the hanger. I'd go an inch or two from the bottom of the bundle, but whatever makes it to where it is tied pretty sturdy. And tie it TIGHT!

At the bottom of the husk you just did, tie the next one so that it lays somewhat on top of the last one. The cool thing about this wreath is that it is crazy and not exactly symmetrical. So don't worry if something lays a little funky at first. You will have lots of adjustments once you've gone all the way around tying.

So it may look like this is fairly complete but once I lifted it up, things sort of shifted a bunch and I actually added four more bundles by pushing bundles already tied on closer together and then it got a lot prettier and fuller. So lift, shift and add!

Once you feel like you have it the way you like it, you can be done OR you can throw in some fun elements from around the house! I grabbed tossles from the corn field, some fox tails from my weeds, and dead dried up sunflowers. I had the little chalk board that I decorated but you can put ribbon, anything really! Then hang it and be proud of yourself and invite someone over! ;)

7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page